New Peach Tree

newbie here, I planted a peach tree last September, Not sure what to make of this but it appears dead till I really got down and looked at it. There are new leaves at the base of the trunk. There is nothing on the rest of the tree. It’s approx. 40" tall, Help.

Can you post a pic? It sounds like the rootstock may be responsible for the new leaves and that the grafted plant might be dead

2 Likes

Hi Mark, welcome to GrowingFruit!

Whereabouts is your property?

Northwest Pa

2 Likes

2 Likes

Welcome Mark.

It could be that your peach will just grow from those two small branches and nothing will ever grow on the main stem above those branches. In that case, that’s okay, as one of those branches will become the new main trunk, and you won’t be able to even tell when the tree is sufficiently large.

I would use a shovel to carefully remove the grass roots within at least 1 ft radius of the trunk. I would add some high nitrogen fertilizer (1 part urine + 5 parts water works) and mulch as well.

1 Like

Hi Mark,
Welcome,
It’s difficult to tell but your tree may be dead above the graft. The two live branches may be coming from the rootstock? That s difficult to determine with the pic provided. Can you tell where the graft union is?
Maybe with a different perspective one could tell. Try to take a better image closer up!
Dennis
Kent, wa

Hi @DennisD , it looks clear to me both live branches are above the graft union.

1 Like

Yes agree now with better pic

1 Like

It appears to be just below the 2 branch’s

Another view, if it helps.
Can I do anything or just let it grow?

If the main stem is alive (green tissue underneath if you scratch it), you can use a knife to cut a shallow line into the bark above the buds where you would like a new branch to grow. Some people do that to try to induce branching. Not guaranteed to work.