New to growing raspberrys

Hi everyone im just starting out with growing raspberrys im trying to create a pick your own crop for the last 5 years ive had a large vegetable garden with a successful vegetable stand its become way to much work long hours im trying to slowly convert the stand to a raspberry stand there is a pick your own blue berry farm about a mile from me and they seem to do very well some of the varieties im starting out with are
50 polana
50 jewel
25 nova
25 double gold
25 caroline
25 prelude
25 joan j
Polana are the only ones in now others are on order
I live in MA zone 6 b
Bob

1 Like

Hey Bob. I’m in Mass too. Are you referring to Ward’s Berry farm?

I’ve started seeing swd on some of my later raspberries the past few years. They get most of my second crop of double gold. So, early and mid-season varieties might be a good decision.

1 Like

Out of the ones I have selected above which ones should i avoid i still have time to chang my order
Thank for your help i really want to start out in the right direction
The farm near me is osamequin
Bob

Buy summer bearing types to avoid SWD, or prune everbearing for a summer crop.
Taylor, Encore, Cascade Delight, and Cascade Gold are summer bearing types. So is Prelude, berries on Prelude I like for processing as they can be tart.

3 Likes

i just ordered 10 acc eden from nourse. its a new commercial summer bearer from N.S , canada. has a big berry. I’m growing a lot of raspberries. what i don’t keep, ill sell at the farmers market. i too am getting away from late producing berries. don’t have swd here yet but I’m sure its coming. i have autumn britten, jaclyn, polka, ohio treasure blacks, joan j, anne, royalty, and cascade gold.