Newbie needs help with apple plants

Hello all,

I have recently planted 3 apple plants in my backyard.
Plant A - Granny Smith
Plant B - Honey Crisp
Plant C - Pink Lady

Where I live, we have a lot of clay soil that retains a lot of moisture. However, being a newbie I planted Plant A and Plant B by digging a hole about a foot deep thinking nothing much of it. These two plants are about 20 feet from each other. Plant A seems to have got itself accustomed to the soil and seems to be doing okay. Plant B on the other hand had leaves that were a little curled up. I was not sure if it was due to too much moisture or if it was normal for the type of apple plant. After about two weeks, decided to take it out and make a raised bed with a small trench for excess water to run out and replanted it. There is no noticeable difference; negative or positive on this plant.

I also decided to add a third apple plant into the mix and this is Plant C. It was planted in between Plant A and Plant B. So, each plant is about 10 feet apart now. I planted Plant C on a raised bed as well and have a little trench for any excess water to run down. When we got Plant C, it already had flowers but they have wilted away but, I have a feeling this plant will also do well.

Here are my questions and concerns.

Plant A
Spots - What are these discolored spots on the leaves indicate? (pics: Plant_A_Leaf_1

Plant B
Leaves - Why are the leaves still somewhat curled up? Is that normal for a honey crisp apple plant?

Plant C
Eaten leaves - Something seems to be eating its leaves? What should I do to prevent it? (pics:

I can only upload one picture since I am a new to this forum.

Thanks you in advance for any helpful suggestions.

1 Like

Hello and welcome.

If you are growing in clay, you were probably wise to plant your trees in mounds or raised beds. So, good move by you, though planting and replanting the Honeycrisp may have stressed the tree in the short term.