Not exactly a garden topic, but

Every spring I set up my portable greenhouse on my second story deck to keep my transplants before they go to the garden. I usually place bubble insulation on the floor, and cover the top at night to help the heater. This year it is my first time on a new deck built last fall. I was about to disassemble the greenhouse today, when I discovered, that in the new deck structure there is a really nice spot for the nest, that seems to be taken. The problem is, smart bird built it under the floor of my greenhouse, and if I take it away, the nest will become open to the elements through deck boards spacing. I do not know what bird it is, and if it is beneficial to the garden or not… But babies are babies… What would you do?

1 Like

If there are already babies there, I would just wait until they flege.

1 Like

Birds are a mixed blessing for gardeners and orchardists, but I choose to live with the birds.

When I was in junior high school my bedroom was a converted enclosed back porch and it wasn’t sealed up too well; A Carolina wren built a nest in the room and came and went as she pleased. Sorry to say I don’t recall her raising a brood there, but nice nonetheless. With luck you’ve got a wren , but there are a number of birds that are willing to mingle with us like that.

Thanks guys, I think I will leave my greenhouse and the bird nest for now alone)

Like your story, Mark!

Closest I got is the blue birds raising a brood in my bird house came to my deck waiting for me to give them meal worms.

1 Like

What a spoiled creature :smile:

I remember when the quail laid an entire clutch of eggs by the grapevine by the back door before they realized that there was a dog in the house—an English Setter.

oops

It wont take long for chicks to leave the nest if they are present. I would give them the benefit of leaving things in tack.