NovaMac on B9 arrived

My NovaMac apple arrived today from Maple Valley orchards. Very nice looking long whip… but unfortunately somewhere in shipping (I suspect)… some clown seriously bent the long narrow package.

Just my luck.

I lopped it off just below the break… think it will be fine. Very nice root system in place.

Noticed it arrived on my lunch hour… got it temp planted in the edge of one of my compost piles… and gave it plenty of water.

4 Likes

I’m not sure the brake actually matters.

I’d like to prune the whip back low any way’s. So i get my framework branches low. Since it’s on B9 I’m assuming you want it to branch low. If you wanted it to branch high, the brake would matter.

you could even prune it further back, or brake off all buds except the ones at the right Hight and direction to form you laterals.

I think skillcult has a good video on this. But i can’t seem to find it.
i think it might be this one.

or this one

1 Like

@oscar … I have no experience with B9 but that was all they offered NovaMac in.

I am not worried about the break in that long whip… I would have lopped it off some myself.

I hear you have to steak b9… so I may try my first espellar project with it.

I did get some m7 rootstock from them too and 2 pcs NovaMac scion. So hopefully I will get another going on M7 which has proven to work well for me here.

I bought a few apple trees from Maple valley last year on Bud9. They had Lindamac and Sansa which I wanted. The trees grew nice the first year. Came as 3.5’ whips and grew to 5’ by the end of the 2021 growing season.

@Spartan — it is a very nice looking tree… the break was not ideal but other than that the tree looked great. The roots looked very nice to me, it was packaged well, roots nice and moist, nice buds on the whip. No complaints really. And cost 25.00 which seems very reasonable to me (considering todays crazy prices).