Onion Sets

Another impulse buy. I’m a newbie to growing onions but I had heard it was hard to find sets to plant. Home Depot had three different varieties but they didn’t list what day type they were. I chose the one listed as mild. This should be an interesting experiment in growing onions.

4 Likes

I’ve found onion sets for sale at a Tractor Supply Company near me. I didn’t know much about them, but discovered through the growing process that day length matters for them to start bulbing, and that onions grown from seed instead of sets will generally store longer.

2 Likes

Thanks

I absolutely love the idea of growing large quantities of garlic and onions for my own consumption, I just haven’t had success yet. I’ve tried garlic on several different occasions, and learned a lot about timing, but haven’t gotten much in the way of usable heads. Most were harvested rather small.

With the onion seeds that I have tried on several occasions I’ve gotten rather poor germination, and never a useful harvest. I am going to keep trying because I absolutely love these crops and I want to be successful. I think that it might be time for me to finally try the Green Mountain Multiplier Onions I’ve mentioned elsewhere on the forum.

1 Like

I bought Sweet Oversize, Stuttgarter, Snowball White, and Red Karmen onion sets from Urban Farmer this past fall. I was pleased with what they sent me. They were one of the only companies offering fall sets, but they offer them in the spring as well.

Also, if you have a Rural King in your area, they typically sell yellow, white, and red onion sets and seed potato… cheapest in town.

2 Likes

For those who grow different kinds of onions, I recommend trying Nabechan bunching onions from seed.

3 Likes

My plan was to buy seed but 90 bulbs for 3.98 seems to be a bargain. Now I have to determine the best time to plant.

1 Like

Exclusive! Better flavor than other bunching onions.