Osage Blackberry, or not?

I’m new to growing blackberries and last spring I planted four varieties of blackberries ordered from Indiana Berry: Osage, Ouachita, Natchez and Von. They have grown well in my zone 7b garden, are now fruiting as expected on the floricanes, and new primocanes are actively growing.

A few weeks back I tipped the Osage primocanes at around 3 feet and they have continued to grow and are now about 4 to 5 feet tall. What I didn’t expect to see are flower buds on these primocanes, as Osage isn’t described as primocane fruiting.

Of the four varieties I planted, the Osage are by far the most vigorous growers, the most erect, and were the first to flower and set fruit.

Do floricane fruiting blackberries occasionally fruit on their primocanes, or is it more likely that I was sent the wrong variety?

Thanks

I don’t know if floricane varieties of blackberries fruit on the primocanes, but some “summer-bearing” (floricane) raspberries do. I have a couple varieties like that (Prelude and Nova).

As far as Osage is concerned, I planted one last year (from Indiana Berry, too) and it did not fruit last year. It had some significant cane damage from the cold, but has bloomed/is blooming, and set some small berries. It has responded to the dieback by sending up maybe 4 or 5 vigorous primocanes, of which one is almost 5ft tall.

One thing I noticed odd was that the blossoms have a light purple tint to them. Can you recall what color your Osage blooms are?

The fact your Osage is very vigorous, bloomed earliest and is fruiting on tipped primocanes makes me think you may have got a PrimeArk Freedom or Traveler. I am curious as to what color your Osage blossoms were.

I have both, PAF had its big floricane killed by the cold, but has sent up over a dozen vigorous primocanes. PAT did better in regards to the cold, and bloomed and set fruit before Osage and Ouachita.