Parafilm substitute?

Trying to get my last two apple grafts in (very late but better than never!) and have misplaced my parafilm. I hate to order more and wait. I’m doing cleft grafts. I have toilet ring wax but I have been using the parafilm to wrap the scion and to cover the split area before putting on wax so that the wax wouldn’t get in the healing area. I wondered if I could use grocery store plastic bags to cover the cleft, then wax it, and could I put a thin layer of wax on the scion itself in lieu of parafilm? If not I guess I will order some. . . .

Yes to all. A good heavy plastic bag (bread bags, for example) cut into strips works well. And the Johnny wax is fine. BUT the plastic may not pull the graft tight enough unless you’re better at cutting than I am. That is not unlikely -I’m not that good at it. Temflex works quite well and can be picked up at any hardware for a couple of bucks. Some people like to use electrician’s tape, and some wrap electrician’s tape sticky-side out, I think. Paper masking tape worked for me, but remained ugly for years. And lots of places sell a non-adhesive green poly tape that works and would be useful for other things.

Hope that helps,

Mark

1 Like

I stopped using parafilm this year and instead after wrapping the graft with
vinyl tape, I place a plastic bag over the entire graft and secure it to the
host site. Then I place a paper bag over the whole thing and secure it also.
I use no pruning sealer at all, and this has been my most productive
grafting year.

5 Likes