Peach limbs sometimes make interesting shapes

I’ve been pruning peach trees lately and come across some scaffolds which look sort of interesting.

I didn’t try to bend these limbs in some weird shape, but just from regular pruning they end up that way. I’m no expert in pruning, but I’ve found for me pruning is somewhat of a dance (albeit a very slow dance) with the tree. It moves in certain directions and I respond based upon its movements.

Prune a limb so as not to let it get too low, or too high, or develop bad angles or waterspouts. This constant adjustment makes for limbs which can have a look of interesting twists. Here’s some pics I took today. Anyone else care to share some pics of their trees too?

Here’s one in which the limb started to go down too much so I had to prune it up.

Here’s one I apparently needed to go the other way, so it does a U-turn

Here’s one slightly cork screwy

Here’s one which leans way over. I have quite a few like this but they don’t seem unstable

Here’s a small one I pruned today, which would make an interesting bend, if it doesn’t get pruned off next year.

7 Likes

You have a good eye!

:-)M

1 Like

Well, @Olpea, we should just call you the “Peach Tree Whisperer”. Nice work.

Just curious, but what is the age of the tree in those first couple pics?

1 Like

I thought fall pruning was dangerous to peaches, reducing their ability to harden off. I’m guessing you have a good reason to discard this suggestion.

Peach trees seem to have a mid of their own, and will grow in the
direction in which THEY want to grow, no matter how much coaxing
you give them.

1 Like

Subdood,

The trees were planted 2012, so they have gone through 5 growing seasons.

Alan,

Your absolutely right of course. I don’t have a good horticultural reason for pruning in the fall, it’s strictly a labor thing.