Peach wine

I ended up with about 200 peaches but due to a lot or rain some of them started splitting and were super juicy. I decided to take 50 of the biggest, ripest, juiciest peaches and make peach wine. It will make 5 gallons, which equates to about 30 bottles of wine. This picture is the carboy in its fifth day of fermentation. It is currently in my bathroom because that is the only place in my house under 72 degrees. Later this week I will rack the wine into another carboy for several months and plan to keep it in my friend’s basement to avoid temperature swings.

1 Like

I vented peaches into wine years ago. Everyone thought it was good but I have come to the conclusion that I love peach flavored wine but I do not like peach wine it self. Your batch is looking lovely I hope it comes out well.

1 Like

Did you back sweeten once fermentation was complete? Did you add potassium sorbate at the end of fermentation? I’ve never done this before, with the exception of making hard apple cider two years ago. The cider tasted like a dry white wine and was just okay.

For this wine I adjusted for tannins and pH and added pectin enzyme. I am also going to add sugar before bottling because when I think peach wine, I think sweetness, not dryness.

Yes and Yes, What you describe is exactly what I did. When you back sweeten, dont use sugar. Turn the sugar into simple syrup first.

1 Like

Will do. Any recommendation on the amount of sugar to add?

Man that would be like taking a picture of a pot of soup and asking how much pepper to add.

You can always use the Kool-Aid rule of thumb. 2 cups of sugar per gallon will be as sweet as standard Kool-Aid. Assuming a completely dry fermentation.

1 Like

Perfect timing! My brother and law and I are debating making the rest of our
Reliance peaches into wine or not. I say no and he says yes. He makes just wonderful wine from all the tart cherries I grow (real blue ribbon winner), but the