Persimmon hardiness trials at Threefold Farm (6b/7a South Central PA)

Hi all, I’ve been growing out persimmons for several years now and have collected and grafted quite a number of Asian, American, and hybrid persimmons. We’re in a bit of a weird spot here. Most winters we’re technically a zone 7a, with just a few nights in the single digits. However, we’re rather cold when compared to other 7a climates like parts of Virginia. This winter, for instance, we hit around 2F, but also stayed cold enough that quite a number of folks were able to go ice skating. We’re also in a very exposed location with many trees cleared off for field crops, so wind plays a HUGE role in hardiness of plantings here. As a result, it’s a pretty good test area and some cultivars seem to experience damage that wouldn’t otherwise, I believe due to the exposure of winds.

I went around to all of our trees today. Some are out in a commercial orchard type setting, others are planting against buildings for a little protection from the winds and perhaps small microclimates. I’m going to list out cultivars by location and the amount of damage I saw on them. Since this is a rather long list, I also want to draw out some observations because many cultivars are planted in a few locations. Some had no damage at all, while other experienced significant damage. Why the difference? I have some thoughts that I’d welcome feedback on.

Wind - Exposed to cold & dry (and therefore desiccating) winds has a very significant impact on damage. Wind protection has a huge impact on the degree of damage to marginal varieties (for us, the pure kaki varieties).