Pink currants...maybe skip this one

Hey everyone,
For those of you who have seen my other posts, you’ll know I like writing up some of my opinions on my less common fruiting plants. I (currant)ly grow about 12 different varieties of currants/gooseberries and to my surprise, both of my pink currant varieties, the pink champagne and Gloire De Sablon, are my least favorite. Sorry I didn’t take a picture during the peak growing season, ill upload one next year if anyone is interested. With that being said its not by any means a bad plant to grow, but if you’re in a zone good for growing currants or gooseberries, at least for fresh eating, these are just not my go to. This review is strictly for fresh eating, I don’t really process any of the fruit I grow so I won’t comment on that part. I’ve been growing pink currants for 3 years now. As with my other posts, here are the pros and cons:

Pros:

• As with most all currants, they’re healthy and easy to grow
  • The taste is good but isn’t great. The reason I’m listing this as a pro is because it does have flavor reminiscent of pomegranate and given the seed crunch, in a lot of ways it feels like you’re eating a pomegranate aril when you pop them in your mouth. I love pomegranate but its too cold here to grow them so…this is a poor substitute but about as close as you’ll get in zone 5 in my experience.
  • They ripen earlier than gooseberries and can hang for a very long time without shriveling. In the Chicagoland area they ripen mid July and you can let them easily hang on the bush for a month before they start turning into a currant raisin.
  • Less animals are attracted to them due to their lack of intense color while ripening
  • I know in certain parts of the country, insects can be an issue for ribes, out here in the Chicagoland area, I haven’t had any pest problems so far.

Cons: