Please help me identfy these apple and tomato fruit diseases, and a type of mushroom

I’ve been dealing with these things for a few years and need some help. Thought I’d try to get answers on one thread.

Background:

The apple disease mainly occurs starting mid summer. Doesn’t seem to be variety dependent. Spray fungicide program on apples isn’t what I’d call intensive (compared to peaches). It sort of looks like black rot to me, except that the decay isn’t round.

Tomatoes have some spotting in the late fall. Again spraying isn’t intense that time of year. Plenty of rain though.

Lastly, here is a mushroom we sometimes find growing around dead peach stumps (sometimes we cut peach trees down, other times pull them out). I’m wondering if this could be Armillaria, but I don’t know enough about mushroom identification to have any confidence about it.

3 Likes

I’m a total amateur but the mushroom looks like a polypore, maybe some kind of ganoderma, e.g. ganoderma tsugae or lucidum. What kind of wood did you find it on?

1 Like

The Tomato spots look like the pics of bacterial canker in the pics on this website:

The apple rot may be related to lack of calcium. They do not quite look like bitter pit which is what I get on my apple fruit of one variety. Perhaps try foliar sprays of calcium and get a soil test to check soil ph. If you need to add calcium to soil, first evaluate if you have a ph slightly acidic before adding lime. If your soil is too alkaline it can cause improper uptake of nutrients so get the pH right before adding too much soil amendments. I am using a combination of treatments to bring my pH down due to highly alkaline city water supply of 8.4 pH. It’s possible if you use municipal water that you have the same problem
Dennis
Kent, wa

For the apples I am not sure. My first question for you is do the apples crack first and then black/brown regions appear or is it the reverse where the black/brown regions appear and then the apples later crack?