Please Help: What is Likely Peach Tree Leaf Problem?

Can anyone help me with diagnosing my peach tree problems? We have 4 trees, and they all have the same sandy soil and water. One (as you can see) - leaves are browning/yellowing starting at tips, then turning all brown and falling off. The other three trees are green and healthy. Does the problem with the one tree look like a disease or a water issue? (I’m new to growing these. I tried googling and all diseases looked more spotty, but I want to check with experts). Thanks!

2 Likes

Nematodes are a general issue in Florida…but have no idea if that’s an issue here.

Are these trees planted in 2020 or 2021?

1 Like

Thank you for your response! I planted all of them in the past few months. We do have those little grub things in the sand, I’ve seen them when digging. Would different peach varieties respond differently to them? Because 3 of the trees look perfect, just one looks like this.

varieties will certainly play a part here, varying resistances to disease, pests and bacteria. Can we get a close up picture of the branch with the dead leaves? I am no expert, but i am not seeing anything from this image (aside from clear dead leaves). To me, it doesn’t look like brown rot or peach leaf curl.

Not to cause panic, but if this is bacterial or viral, it could be infecting this tree now and spread to the others in the coming weeks. make sure to collect any dead leaves and dispose of them to prevent spreading (don’t compost them).

1 Like

Oh, no panic at all, thank you, that is my concern - I want to know if I should remove this tree to protect the other ones, or if this is a tree-specific issue that won’t spread. Here is a closeup of one of the branches with dead leaves. (There are a few, maybe 3 or 4?)

Since it looks like,they are dying back from the tips,it could be Leaf scorch.

1 Like