Please help with salty soil

Hi, I am new to gardening. My parents are avid gardeners and when my grandfather died I remember that his priest revered him as an amazing gardener. I wish to follow in my family’s footsteps however I recently purchased 1/4th an acre on the the waterfront in port isabel tx(probably the saltiest environment possible)

Does anyone know of any tips for growing in a salty environment?
I aim to grow some key limes, coconuts and figs.
I would love to grow an avacado
Can anyone source me the seeds for a west indian race avacado.

Thanks in advance

2 Likes

1 Like

Hi Jeremy! I know certain fruit trees are more tolerant of salts in the soil than others. You may want to spend some time on this forum searching for that particular topic and see if what you find fits the bill for what you hope to grow. I bet coconuts and bananas could be options just based on where they naturally come from.

An important question for you would be - have you had your soil tested to see how much salt you actually have in your soil? There are usually local agricultural extensions that will test your soil, or maybe a local lab.

Additionally, if there are certain trees you may be interested that normally cannot handle the salt, you could try building some raised beds with amended soil (without native soil in the raised part). That might be enough to ease certain trees into tolerating the salt below if it’s an issue.

Good luck and welcome to the forum!

1 Like

Based on that aerial photo, I think it’s unlikely you’ll be able to grow an avocado in the ground. The roots would likely encounter an ocean water table just a few feet below the surface, unless those are built up like dunes.

However, you could use a large container (25 gal+) and a WI race avocado might be able to handle the salt spray as long as it doesn’t get flooded during a hurricane storm surge. Most nurseries sell grafted trees on Lula seedling rootstock, fairly salt tolerant (for an avocado).