Plum and plumcot brix

Anyone have a range of Brix levels they’ve attained for the following plums?:

-Mirabelle
-Italian prune plum
-redheart

Brix can easily vary 10-15 points location to location.

1 Like

@Stan good to know they could vary that much. It would still be useful to know the potential and hopefully see someone report near my location in vancouver area canada.

If you have dry weather during harvest and the few preceding weeks, the first two can easily have a brix above 20. I don’t know the third variety.

1 Like

Sorry, I’ve never used a brix meter before. I am fairly close to your location though, although I am in the Gulf Islands.

I planted a redheart quite a few years back and I’ve never gotten good production off of it. This may be because it is in a low elevation by the water that is too cool and windy, or it may be because neighbors trees have blocked much of its sun exposure. It may also simply be because I don’t have a good pollination partner for it close by.

How is the cropping on your redheart, and what do you use for a pollination partner? I don’t believe the European Plums you listed are compatible pollinators for the Redheart which is a Japanese or jap/hybrid.

1 Like

@tbg9b I currently only have mirabelle grafted and that’s on a satsuma rootstock-- so far it looks quite strong but time will tell how far it’ll go.

That said, i didn’t have a brix meter at the time I tasted them so i was wondering what they might’ve been and use that info to establish a realistic expectation/benchmark for other varieties I’m looking into grafting to our juvenile tree.

The Italian prune plum was what I’d consider borderline “too sweet” so if i come across other varieties that are significantly higher Brix, i’ll probably put em lower priority.

I am in zone 6 New England when rain is common. I have mirabelle de Nancy and Parfume de Septembre. The last brix recorded was 20. These mirabelles do not have acidity in them so 20 is plenty sweet.