Plum heaven

I’ve complained this season about my peaches- but dry weather is helping and they are finally getting above 12% sugar. What I haven’t complained much about is this year’s plum crop where I’ve been sampling many varieties I’ve never tried before and have found many to be over-the-top delicious.

Today’s gift was a few Larodas from a graft. I wasn’t expecting anything much beyond being like Santa Rosa but it is better to my palate- as good as any plum I grow. Solid purple on the outside- one plum was quite large but all were just as sweet with just the right touch of tartness along with a nice meatyness. What was most amazing of all was the beauty of the flesh which runs from deep red to golden amber. They are sweeter than any Santa Rosa I’ve harvested here and the flesh is more beautiful than any plum I’ve ever seen.

Now I only have to find out how consistent a cropper it is here and if it works out I will have 3 amazing Santa Rosa types that bear from early to late season.

I also harvested about 30 pounds of Green Gage plums today and got a 24 brix reading on one I randomly picked. They are sweet and good but not as WOW as the two Laredos is ate today.

Plums are visually the most diversely beautiful fruit I grow. Too bad my phone sucks at transferring photos to the internet. Maybe my son can help me with that today.

9 Likes

… and here comes the heavy rain!

1 Like

I never heard of Laredo? I have Laroda I grafted this year. Is that what you mean? Hope so!

I’m very curious about Vermont too, added that also.

1 Like

Accuweather is only predicting .18" on Sun. I don’t think that little will matter much.

1 Like

Where did the name Laroda come from.[quote=“Drew51, post:3, topic:12449”]
I have Laroda I grafted this year. Is that what you mean?
[/quote]

Yeah, you’re right. I spent my earliest boyhood in Scottsdale Ariz and that cowboy song about walking the streets of Laredo is indelibly embedded in my brain. Pretty spooky song.