Pros and Cons put net on the tree for bugs or birds

I am thinking (preparing ahead)of buying some nets to cover some of my fruit trees . When I search for nets there are two major types. One is bug net which has very fine holes like a mosquito net. Another is bird net which has larger holes.

I have never used bug net on fruit trees. Anyone had experience please chime in.
For the bug net, my major concern are

1. how effective it is
  2. will the net block out the sun ray enough to affect the energy intake by the leaves?
    3)will the net affect the air circulation which might increase the mold/fungus grow on the tree and fruits?

I have limited bird net experience of netted one tree in one season. It is kinda worked. Birds still can pick some fruits on the edges where the net and branches meet.
I know there are several different material/ construction of bird net out in the market. I am open to hear suggestion and recommends of net material and structure that works best (easy set up, durability, effectiveness) as the bird nets. Also most nets are flat , some are tailored/sew into tree shape. Which one works the best?

2 Likes

I tried a few nets and found them to be more hassle than they were worth. Also, to get nice ones that actually work they are pretty expensive. Nets really only reduce damage though.
If your trees are small it might work out well for you. My method of defeating the birds was to just plant more trees.

5 Likes

I have only used bird nets on strawberries, but I stopped because I unintentionally trapped a couple of rat snakes in my nets. I have a pine vole problem, and I appreciate whatever the snakes can do to help me with vole control. Based on that experience, I would suggest not using netting that touches the ground unless it’s a fine mesh like mosquito netting. I’ve used lightweight row covers for insect netting and found it very helpful for keeping the cabbage loopers off my crucifer crops, but that’s too fragile to use for netting trees.