Pruning Old Apple Trees

I’m new to fruit trees. I have two old apple trees. I pruned one. See pic. It looked like the other one I haven’t started on. How bad did I do on the pruned tree? What advice can you give me in pruning the other one? Thank you, I’m here to learn and planted a couple more bare root semidwarf apple trees and am excited in getting into this!

6 Likes

Here’s the other one that I’m looking for advice on how to prune.

5 Likes

You whacked it pretty good! But, renewal will keep the branches young and productive. I’ve never gotten that aggressive myself, but my trees aren’t too productive either…with much old growth.

3 Likes

With older trees, trying to get them back under control, they say cut back 1/3 per year until it has been re-tamed. In pruning philosophy, how tall do you want the tree to be? Then prune to height. How far apart should your branches be? Then thin them out. If you have permanent branch structure, are there excessively long shoots? Cut them back. Clean out excessive growth in the tree interior. Trim off shoots on the underside of branches or down growing shoots. Your first tree is liable to fight you this year by sending out excessive water shoots that will want to grow straight upward. Practice almost daily summer pruning of this tree. All of this years growth will have 3 leaves near the branch. Counting these 3 keep this years growth pinched or snipped back to 3 more, or 6 per unit. At first you will think ‘my poor tree, no leaves’. Each time you pinch more shoots will appear and by fall the tree will be very ‘bushy’, with great leaf structure. Next spring you will have fruiting spurs and good structure.

8 Likes

Hi Mick,