Raspberry canes died and shoots continue to look unhealthy

I’ve been growing raspberries for a couple of years now (primocane varieties). I always trim away floricanes as soon as they’ve fruited. This year, the floricanes leafed out and were looking great…for about two weeks, then they rapidly started yellowing and eventually completely dried out and died. This was soon followed by the primocanes doing the same. The entirety of the plants died in June (I had about 5 raspberry plants). Luckily some of the roots must have survived and put out some runners which I was hoping to move back to where I would like them after they had gone dormant. Now it looks as though the new plants are doing the same. Any ideas whats going on here? I checked the old canes, it does not look like its due to borers.

I had the same thing happen this year and it is most likely root rot from the extra amount of rain we had this year. We hit a dry spell and mine seem to be rebounding as well. Next spring I will dig them all up and transplant them into mounds.

4 Likes

Thank you! Reading up on it more, it sounds like you are correct. Hopefully some of them will make it to winter so I can replant them as well.

Yes, red raspberries planted on level ground can become very weak by year 2 or 3 from root rot. Best to elevate the planting using lighter soil.

1 Like

I plant pretty much all my stuff in borderless raised bed type mounds like this.

I have about 4 inches of pretty good dirt… then rocky sticky red clay. I break up a 8 ft wide row… 4 inches deep… then rake all of that soil up to the center to make 4 ft wide borderless raised bed.

It drains well that way and i double my good soil depth where my plants grow.

My raspberries… and everythig else like it and do well. It is a little work… but gives very good results.

6 Likes

That looks like a lot of work.

@northwoodswis4 … It was… that was by far the longest borderless raised bed I have made.