Rooting bundles of fig cuttings in a box of peat moss

This is my first attempt at this method, mentioned by @fruitnut in another thread. I have a couple questions for people already familiar with it.

A few weeks ago I placed reasonably fresh cuttings in indoor buckets of barely moist ground sphagnum peat moss. They are buried about 1/2 way. The lids are kept closed and the buckets are mostly in deep shade all day.

I check on them once a week. Today I noticed some have new roots about 1/8" to 3/8" long. At what point do I attempt to put them in individual pots? What media is recommended for the pots?

3 Likes

I’ve had good luck with Pro Mix HP. Put them in that, water good, drain out excess water, weigh a few if needed for a reference point, and let them grow. I use 4x4x9 inch tree pots. With a cutting and moist mix it’s 800-900 grams.

1 Like

I started these 4/11 in a 2 gal pot of promix hp. I kept them in indirect light and covered part of that time… to discourage shoots and leaves (for the first month).

I started letting them have indirect light again about a week ago… then morning light only for a few days… and today first day in full sun.

No heat mat / bottom heat was used… just outside temps.

3 Likes

Thanks!

Interesting approach to monitoring moisture.

@TNHunter
I’m not in the south.

Hi @fruitnut –
About 1/3 of the cuttings looked suitable and the remainder I put back in the “incubators”.

I potted up the candidates in plain Kellogg’s Patio Mix that I have on hand, then soaked them. I’ll weigh them again after they drain.

QUESTIONS

1. Shall I put them back indoors in the dark (72°), under 6-hour grow lights adjacent to a window (65°-84°), or outdoors in full shade (50°-70°) ?

2. What percent of water weight loss might indicate time to irrigate?

1 Like