Saving an older Citrus Tree

We have a few citrus trees which we grow in pots, inside the house, in the greenhouse, and outside some in the summer. Way back when we got what was supposed to be a Key Lime tree. It has since grown large and produces a bunch of small orange fruits every year, I just don’t think they are key limes. The fruit have orange skin and flesh and are VERY sour. I now suspect it is just citrus root stock and that the original key lime graft never took.

Anyway, space in the GH is getting scare, so we were thinking of getting rid of this supposed Key Lime. But then I got to thinking why wouldn’t I just graft some other varieties onto it and get fruit that I want. I certainly would do that if it were an apple outside. However I have no experience grafting citrus, and don’t know if it is even possible with this more mature tree (the tree is 7 to 8’ tall and trunk diameter is ~2" close to the base).

What do folks think? Is it worth trying to graft some other citrus varieties onto this tree? And any pointers as to how to do it? I assume I’d have to prune back the existing growth severely (this thing grows like a weed). anything else?

Can we see a few pictures.

Hi Steve. First, that may very well be Key Lime. Even though limes are marketed when green, they do mature to yellow or orange.
As far as cutting it back, feel free to do so. Here is a photo of my Clemantine (Algerian) Mandarin That is maybe 30 years old. it had dropped in production with very sparse foliage on the north side. I had considered replacing the tree, but I noticed it readily put out new growth when branches were removed, so I went ahead and pruned it hard. That was two years ago and look at it now.

Grafting is also a possibility, as I also intend to do so.