Share your TOMATO growing tips (Spring 2021)

I have been growing Tomatoes since around 1975… and like many of you (I’m sure) have tried to push the limits as much as possible, to get ripe tomatoes earlier in the year.

In the mid 90’s… I discovered something quite by accident that really helps a lot and is very easy and quite simple… that I wanted to share with you all just in case you have not figured this out yet.

Prior to this discovery, I tried all the gadgets, wall of waters (yep did that)… tried planting them early and protecting them thru late frost, and that really is a gamble, and you usually end up with stunted plants that actually ripen fruit later rather than earlier…

Of course I have a story to go with this discovery so here it is…

Now this is a good tip for someone that does not have a green house, or other protected way to care for early tomatoes… just the average gardner, who might go to the local nursery, buy some plants.

In the mid 90’s, I had a large garden, and grew over 100 tomato plants… and well just about every thing else too. I got married in 1990 so I had a wife then… I preferred big beefy or slicer type tomatoes… and that was all I grew… but she wanted some cherry tomatoes… so that spring I purchased a little 3 pack of sweet 100 cherry tomato plants. I really only wanted to plant 1 or 2… but all they had was 3 packs.

Our average last frost date her was around April 20… but I would try to get tomatoes in the ground early, and protect them when those late frost came… (surly that wall of waters would help)…

So here is where I made my discovery.

In early April, I planted 2 of those sweet 100 cherry tomatoes in the garden… and yep wall of waters to protect (the green ones)…