Small dark spots on the apples

DSCN0896 Last year I cleared land and built a new house. Of course, even before the house was built I planted a new apple tree. I chose Breaburn and this year I let the tree produce 2 apples. I just picked those apples and found spots on both. As an added note, I just dug out all the raspberries I planted because of yellow rust. That would not have had any effect on the apples, would it? Anyway, thanks for any information you guys can give.

1 Like

Hello and congratulations on your first fruits at your new home!

Take what I say with a solid dose of salt, because I am very new to fruit growing myself. But just to get the ball rolling…

According to orangepippin.com, Braeburn is susceptible to scab, mildew, fireblight, and especially cedar apple rust (CAR). Check out this link for more info:

https://www.orangepippin.com/apples/braeburn

I don’t think that any of these diseases are responsible for the damage that you’re seeing, but you may want to be aware of them as potential issues in the future.

I suspect that the spots you’re seeing might be a relatively mild case of bitter pit, which is caused by a calcium deficiency. My understanding is that it’s caused not just by a lack of calcium in the soil, but by a shortfall in the tree’s ability to access and deliver calcium to the fruit. Some varieties are more susceptible than others (don’t know about Braeburn in this regard), and young trees may tend to have more problems (if I remember correctly). Or it could be something else entirely!

One other thing to think about: Braeburn originated in New Zealand, and Orange Pippin describes it as a very late season apple that does best in warm and sunny locations. I notice that you’re in zone 4, so that may be an issue for you.

Hope this is helpful.