Smooth Zest One Nectarine

This is my first year to fruit this variety. This is growing in my greenhouse. These have been very, very good. I would be happy if all my nectarines tasted like this one. Number one I cant believe how early these are and they are far and away the best early ripening fruit I can remember growing. I started picking these a week and half ago and now seem to be at peek ripeness. They are a white flesh clingstone. Unlike most whites though as the name suggests these have some acid as well. I taste mostly sweet though. I think you would need to be in a true low chill area to grow these outdoors as these started blooming really early with the mild winter this year. South Texas, SoCal, Southern Arizona I bet would all be good fits with the dry air. I must say I haven’t tried too many other early ripening nectarines but I’d bet this would stack up against the best of them in this time slot. Anyway just wanted to report a bit about this one.

Drew

2 Likes

Drew:

Sounds interesting. It must be about as early as Honey May. That’s my earliest. It’s low acid and about 18 brix at best. It’s good but has to compete with apricots in that time slot.

How warm do you run your greenhouse?

Thats funny I have been meaning to ask you the same question. My day time highs the last few weeks have been in the high 70’s through the mid eighties depending on cloud cover and such. A few days maybe a little warmer. I don’t honestly know what the night time temps run but I’m sure its a little warmer than outdoor temps. Next year I plan on adding some other varieties of Nectarines to see how these stack up in a few years but I am really happy with these. I also plan on adding a few Apricots as well and I have never grown those and don’t at all no what a ripe one tastes like. It looks like Spring Satin Plumcot is next for me as they are coloring up really well now.

Thank you,
Drew