Spray for fruit trees in flower garden

Does anyone else have fruit trees mixed in with their flower beds? I only have a few trees and a small property so don’t have the luxury of keeping the fruit trees away from other flowering plants. My peach has leaf curl and probably OFM. I will spray when the tree is dormant this winter/next spring, but I am finding it difficult to spray once things are in bloom because I do not want to kill the many pollinators that visit my yard. Does anyone else have a similar situation? Or advice?

i have little spray experience. But from what i understood the spray against leaf curl only works until the leaf buds are breaking. This is usually before your flowers open and bee’s are around.

It gets more complicated when not spraying in dormant season against fungus. But when spraying around flower petal fall against insects.

You could maybe use tarps draped over your flower beds when spraying. And of course learn best practices and only spray when necessary.

Where are you located? That will tell how much pest and disease pressure you have.

I do spray some chemicals so I do not plants flowering plants under or close to my fruit trees for the reason you mention.

If you want, you can do the low impact approach Scott Smith uses.
Low-Impact Spray Schedule (2019 Edition).

Don’t be discouraged by it. Familiarize yourself with Surround and how it work. You can learn how bagging works.

Re- evaluating bagging fruit.

Another thought. Do not plant spring flowers that bloom the same time your fruit trees bloom. Plant summer flowers or thing like hostas instead. By the time your flowers bloom, may be you have bagged all your fruit and there is no need to spray.

1 Like

Coastal MA, Zone 6b. I’ll review Scott’s spraying schedule again. If I can’t make it work I’ll just have to live with the pests I guess.