Starting leek indoors

I do not usually grow leek myself, just regular onions, but this year I started a pot of leek for a friend. Do you trim it the same as you trim onions once a week until they transplanted?

That’s what I did last winter with my seed starts. They are even leggier than onions.

thanks!

Yes, grow them like onions,but when you plant them outside, plant them quite deep, in a bit of a trench is best. Then mound the soil up against them as they grow. That way they will get a nice long white lower stem.

4 Likes

Thanks, will tell my friend to do that) She is complete newbie, so I will plant for her, but she will be taken care of them.

I have some leeks that I planted in Nov.This is not indoors but they are cool weather crop I’ve read. I guess I should have thinned them out more? and trimming, is that like chives?
Thanks for the thread! I don’t know if I’m growing these right
This is what they looked like on Dec 31

Feb4

What I know about any onions, that is when started from seeds they need to be thinned to 1 inch distance between the plants in their temporary containers. I think it is true for leek as well. Onions seedlings you also can replant - if they grow as clump, like on you picture, you can dig the whole clump up, separate and replant on proper distance. If this box is their final destination, then you sure need to thin them. For onions distance between plants is 4-6 inches. I would say 4 will be OK for leeks, but I do not have real experience with them.

1 Like