Stone fruit trees for Western PA

Hello again! I’m trying to choose my stone fruit trees for my backyard orchard. I’m in Pittsburgh, PA in zone 6. The soil has a fair amount of clay.
These are the varieties that I’m considering:

Cherries: Rainier, Black Tartarian, Montmorency

Peach: Red Haven, Indian Blood Free, Peregrine

Plum: Blue Damson, Bavay Green Gage, Toka, Reine Claude Doree

Any advice or input on these??

1 Like

The soil will influence your rootstock choices- what rootstocks are you looking at?

For the cherries I would replace Rainier with White Gold which is brown rot / cracking resistant and also self-fertile. The other two choices are good for PA.

For the peaches I would replace one of them with Glohaven. It is one of the few peaches that is actually resistant to brown rot.

I can’t help you with plums since I have no experience with them.

1 Like

Maybe replace the Damson with something to pollinate Toka. Superior, or maybe one of the zone 5 pluots.

Think production when chosing varieties, especially with plums. The quality will blow you away regardless and if you plant trees on Myro there will be plenty of vigor to graft on multiple varietis once trees reach production. I’m thinking a productive prune plum, for starters, like Empress or Castleton. Maybe Shiro for a J. plum, not because it is especially good but because it’s especially reliable.