Sub Irrigated Raised Beds experiment

Hello gardeners! I am still new to gardening in north Texas, 2019 was year 1 for me and it was a huge eye opener compared to the gardening I had been doing in Nebraska. The biggest issue, water. In NE, I could easily get by on rain and a 55 gallon rain barrel, but here, we can easily go 4 or more weeks with no rain and 100+ temps. To avoid the miserable native clay, I installed raised beds. So far, I can keep my plants alive through the summer, but they certainly aren’t thriving.

This year I am converting three of them into sub irrigated beds. The theory sounds great, having a reservoir in the bed to keep more consistent moisture through the bed. So I am putting in a small pond liner into the bottom of the bed, placing some pots with holes in the bottom into the base, and about .5" of pea gravel. Then I wrap in a corrugated drainage tube (the ends of the tube are covered with landscape fabric and zip-tied to the tube). A hole is cut into the top and a piece of 1.5" PVC is slipped in on one end to be used as a fill tube (the inserted end is cut at a slant with holes drilled into it around the bottom 2"). Then to the other end, a smaller hole is cut in the tube as well as the bed. This smaller hold is for a 3/4" PVC tube that is for drainage (don’t want standing water getting up to the soil). The pots are then filled with sand, and I add in some drainage rocks to the void space to fill up about 3/4 of the way to the top of the drainage pipe. I then add in sand to be about 1/2" above the pipe. This all acts as the reservoir and the sand should wick the water upwards.

From here I found conflicting opinions if you should put down landscape fabric or not. I am opting not to, and then top off the bed with about 6-8" of potting mix. Once I get my initial plants in, I plan to put some mulch on top to help keep evaporation down.