Surround additives

This my first time to use surround and I know that coverage must be constant but with all the spraying looks like any additional items added to the spray would be a time saver. Do any of you add to your surround spray? If you use additives why or for what purpose? Any input is welcome even if your not sure why your adding things. Assuming my fruit survives the predicted 25F my spaying of surround will start soon. Thanks in advance, Bill

Just piggy-backing here, but is it a good idea to add a sticker such as Pinene to Surround?

1 Like

Thanks. I have never used a sticker before but I am going to look over my local Walmart and Home Depot to see if they carry a sticker.

Here’s the label. http://www.cdms.net/ldat/ld7JJ004.pdf

On the bag, I believe it says not to add sticker like Nufilm or Turbo Spreder/sticker.

I believe it is for the purpose of using Surround to protect fruit (not at dormant stage). Coat of Nufilm over Surround would not make Surround flake well and may cause an issue with post harvest wash-off.

When I first used Surround with a handheld sprayer, I did not read the label well (nothing new :smile:). It’s’ clogged. Now I mix it in a 5 gal bucket before I pour it in the tank since my sprayer does not have an agitation system.

2 Likes

Good point, and something that hadn’t even crossed my mind.

1 Like

Thanks.

Has anyone added sulfur to the mix?

Sulfur can be mixed. Most pesticides can be mixed to.

The label also said to watch for fruit that has fuss like peaches or small fruit like cherries re. post harvest effect.

I grow to eat them myself so I am not too worried.

1 Like

RuralKing has a gallon at $9.99. I bought some yesterday. Was planning on using it with fungicide and herbicide.

http://www.ruralking.com/drexel-hum-ac-820-surfactant-1-gallon.html

1 Like