Sweet pepper recommendation needed

I lost a source of pepper seeds I plant every year and looks like it is final. Now I am in search of sweet pepper with flowing properties:
Large disease resistant plants, early, productive, large fruited and meaty, especially good for baking(easy to remove skin is a must!), red or yellow, or both.
Thanks!

1 Like

I don’t grow bell peppers, but do grow a number of good sweet peppers. For a large pepper I like Tekne Dolmasi, Elephant Ear and Carmen F1. Carmen is a basically a improved hybrid of the Italian pepper Corno di Toro Rosso, but is much more productive. I’m sorry but I’ve never really compared them regarding how easy it is to remove the skin, but never found it difficult on any of these.

For more of a stuffing pepper, I’m trying Ashe county pimento, but this is my first year. I’m also Lesya for the first time, which is supposed to be very sweet and thick walled.

4 Likes

my favorite sweet peppers last year were Jimmy nardello, this is a long thin one so I don’t think it fits your baking requirement, but very productive and great taste, and Jolene’s red Italian from nichols. Jolene’s red I think would fit all of your criteria but I don’t remember the skin removal difficulty

2 Likes

I have no idea about skin removal (we never roast them), but I enthusiastically second the recommendation for the long, Italian roasting type peppers. I’ve grown the operatic duo “Carmen” and “Escamillo” for a number of years: they are highly productive, disease-resistant and tasty. This year, because I’m becoming more interested in seed-saving, I’m trialing a number of OP varieties—some of them born from de-hybridization programs that apparently involved “Carmen”: “Perfect Sweet Italian Swarm,” “Gatherer’s Gold,” “Holy Italian,” and “Stocky Red Roaster.” I got them here:

The landrace variety “Perfect Sweet Italian Swarm” may be of especial interest. According to the breeder’s description: