TangOs almost ready

The raccoons got some of my TangOs fruits last night. I set 2 traps this evening with sweet corns as bait. I harvested some just for insurance.

Tony

7 Likes

Tony,

They’re supposed to be larger than the Saturn, right? I read somewhere that Tango2 is the improved version of the original version. Just wonder about taste from both versions, are they the same?

Tom

Awesome Tony! How many more days do you think? My nephew has a dozen or so on his tree, His tree is probably safe from coons. Should I have him eat one now, or when for the first?

(note to others: Tony and my nephew got their Tango’s at the same time and are in the same city. BTW, My nephew is 9. His tree is in his grandpas back yard. Also has a raspberry bush)

4 Likes

Curtis,

This is my first year of harvesting it. I am not sure how it tastes. I will let them ripen a little bit more next to the bananas. I will update on the taste later.

Tom,

Yes, they are a little bigger than the Saturn. It could get bigger if I would have thin more.

Tony

1 Like

Tony, would you please keep this thread updated? Also how many peaches are you getting from that tree this year?

Curtis,

I left 30 peaches on the TangOs tree this year. I ate one that was almost completely yellow yesterday and I was supprised it was not rubbery at all. It was some what juicy with sweet and tangy taste.

Tony

2 Likes

Here are the photos of a soft tree ripened TangOs. Nice looking yellow fruit with balanced sugar and acid in contrast to Saturn that was all white and high in sugar and low in acid. Both are excellent and keepers.

Tony

4 Likes

Do you grow Galaxy? I grew that one a few years ago and people really raved about it. It was good sized for a flat.

Wild,

I grafted a scion of Galaxy from Amadio this Spring on the TangOs branch but it failed to take. I may try to graft several scions of it next year for insurance.

Tony

1 Like

You’re a good 2-3 weeks ahead of me… Mine are still very much green.