Texan Inlay Graft on Chestnut

Hello. First time I post. I grow chestnuts and pines. I am considering using the so-called Texas inlay bark graft on some chestnut trees. It seems like a neat and easy method but appears only to be used on Pecans. Would it work for chestnuts? Thanks.

2 Likes

Yes.

Texas inlay, Mega-chip, I think they’re one in the same. You can search for mega chip demonstration on here. I did one.

It works great for all hardwoods. I graft pecans and nuts, & fruits semi-professionally.

Dax
P.s. grafted chestnut trees experience significant #'s of delayed graft incompatibility and it’s recommended to use improved seed for cultivation and no more grafting.

Thanks for your answer, But, and please bare with me as I am new to grafting, Texas inlay bark grafting and the Mega chip method do not seem the same at all to me. On the web there are many youtube demos of grafting Pecan using the Texas inlay method and it is apparently for limbs of over 2 inch diameter. I saw your demo on the mega chip method and Tom Wahls also. It is interesting but, to me, it looks like a sort of budding method and maybe somewhat like the modified bark graft. I may be totally wrong, but I am trying to find the highest efficacy method to graft my chestnut seedlings that are now of a diameter of 2 to 3 inches. Rudy

1 Like

I, I don’t know it Rudy, sorry.