The bagging starts

Bought some Clemson Fruit Tree Bags at the end of last season for my peaches. Sprayed them once early early this morning. Decided to give it a whirl tonight right before it got too dark. Grabbed a small handful and went out. Bags went on pretty easy. Little hard to get them around the leaves at times, but I think it’s due to me probably waiting a tad too long as most of these peaches are probably a little larger than a quarter. I’ll test the bags his year and see about next. I can’t remember how many I bought but I think it was enough for a few seasons.

1 Like

This is my first year to bag peaches and I found it a difficult task securing the bag around such a short stem. I only bagged ten but the effort will be worth it to me if I can get a high quality fruit.

1 Like

You definitely have better dexterity than I do. I put them on this morning. After about 15 bags, I gave up. I found it difficult to gather the top of the bag in a nice flod and twist tie it well.

On several of my peaches, Leaves were in the way. Peach position on a branch was not alway easy to put a bag on, bags’ stiffness made it harder to manipulate. All in all, I am not able to use them as well as I hope for.

I now am working on cutting perforated bread bags to size. I can get them on peaches much easier and a lot faster.

2 Likes

Will be preparing my bags tonight, I’m always a week or two behind Mamuang! Still raining here, so no spray yet. This is very frustrating. Will net my peach, cherry, pear, and plum trees, currants and berries.

2 Likes

Organza bag on the left, Clemson paper bag on the right. Perforated bread bags in the background

Perforated bread bag on left, organza bag on right.

2 Likes

Of the three materials, organza bags are the easiest to apply. Too bad, the site I ordered from said they were sold out.