The tastiest grape cultivars

I’m looking for grape cultivar recommendations. My number one priority is taste. Also a priority is Pierce Disease tolerance. I’m in the southeast. There has to be something that tastes special out there unlike the supermarket grapes.

Table vs wine grape

• I really don’t know why some grapes are considered wine grapes and others table grapes. I just want tasty grapes. If wine grapes are tastier, then I’d like to grow them as “table” grapes.

From the store bought stuff, I find myself enjoying the grapes that are starting to go “bad”. They taste “winey” or just more intense and concentrated.

4 Likes

Im no grape expert… not even a novice yet… but i think its hard to go wrong with Concord Seedless… its fairly disease resistant, tough, and the grapes taste good.

You can get totally lost in varieties…there are alot.

You have to ask yourself if you really want to build trellises and prune alot and do alot of tending if you want to grow grapes.

2 Likes

I have a seedless concord purchased from Starks 15 years ago. I like it… no disease issues. The grapes are smaller and small clusters… and mine ripen slowly over a month or more… it is not like you go and pick one fully ripe cluster… but you pick individual ripe grapes from the clusters.

Very intense flavor nice and sweet.

I have to bag them or the birds will get many more than I do.

4 Likes

@TNHunter when you say no disease issues, do you do anything to spray your Seedless Concords, or are they pretty much plant and prune?

1 Like