Thinning and bagging apples and pears

I’m thinning and bagging my apples and pears. Good fruit set this year, so lots of thinning to do! Still have lots of apples to go This is my first year bagging, hoping for good results, especially since I seem to have beaten plum curculio (so far)!

3 Likes

Looking good! My apples haven’t even flowered yet! Hope to have some warm weather for them this week. I’m going to bag some apples to this year.

1 Like

Just beware that the bags can be blown off by the wind. Last year one good thunderstorm took off almost all of my bags with the apples still inside them. So the bags should be attached to the main branch not to the apple stem.

2 Likes

I get some normal drops every year after I’ve bagged, but normally apple and bag hold tight.

2 Likes

there was a member her that posted what I am sure is a better way to bag. Hopefully he will show up and post his picture again. he cut off the bottom corners of the bags for ventilation Since pests can’t fly into an opening on the bottom theses holes can be pretty big. He also, with scissors, cut in the middle of one side of the zipper so that the zipper would be closed completely and the stem coming through the bag right below the zipper.

I have previously bagged as you did and it actually ruined the fruit. I think the ventilation will solve that, so I am bagging again this year.

The corners are cut off, hard to see in the pics.

those are little baby cuts. he had cut a lot more.

I usually cut the bottom corner quite wide for better ventilation. Except earwigs, nothing go in from the bottom.

Cut a small slit in the middle of ziplock makes the stem of fruitlet fit better and less likely to be blown away.

2 Likes

Earwigs don’t seem to hurt apples, and I don’t know about pears, but they chew on plums - I don’t even try bagging those.

Earwigs have chewed on my apples. Hate them. So ugly.

1 Like