Thyophinate methyl or Benomyl for grapes?

I have powdery mildew on most of my grapes this year. This is my first time using a fungicide. Are either of these preferable? Or should I avoid them both for some organic approach like sodium bio carbonate or Basic copper chloride?

1 Like

Hi TheNiceGuy.
I was waiting taht someone to answer you, but since I see that you do not get an answer, I will help you.
I am from Villarrobledo ( Castilla La Mancha region in Spain)
, which is one of the towns with the largest vineyard area in the world, so I know something about the vineyard.

I explain a little.
For when there are still no symptoms of the disease in the vine stocks, copper oxychloride is used as a preventive.

When there is already appearance of the powdery mildew disease in the vineyard, the heavy artillery must be used.

The use of fungicides is necessary but with preventive, curative and eradicating action.
Of the fungicides that you mention, Benomyl is not appropriate, and Methyl Thiophanate has a preventive and curative action ( not eradicating ) against powdery mildew, for which I recommend using these fungicides (they are active principles and are marketed under various trademarks).

• Tetraconazole: preventive, curative and eradicating activity against grape powdery mildew
  • Cyproconazole: preventive, curative and eradicating activity against grape powdery mildew
  • Meptildinocap: preventive, curative and eradicating activity against grape powdery mildew

Only with preventive and curative action there are many more, but the three that I quote you are the best against to grape powdery mildew .

Regards
Jose

2 Likes

That’s extremely helpful Jose-Albacete! Just the information I was looking for. I’ll search locally for these.