Today's drops and pick

The Liberty appeared to drop from being ripe. Don’t know why the Yates dropped. I picked the damaged Gold Rush.

9 Likes

First year our Honeycrisp fruited. Only two apples. Yesterday I found one of the two had dropped. We had high winds and heavy rains the day before, so that was my guess for the cause. Hoping the remaining one will hang in there for a couple more weeks.

3 Likes

I don’t mind a few drops if the tree has several more. At my location this appears to be when most of the Liberty ripens. My area is typically so hot and the season is long which seems to cause more of my late varieties to ripen early. Most of my Goldrush are holding on the tree well this year.

3 Likes

I had some Libertys drop a couple of weeks ago, picked a few, and have one remaining on the tree. This is my first year it has fruited significantly, and I’m surprised at the early ripening date and the lack of color on mine. The taste and texture have been very good. How do yours taste?

My Goldrush tend to get that same disease, one of the summer rots, which I haven’t sprayed for this year. I’m grafting a gold rush to my absolute sunniest spot and hoping that will help.

1 Like

My goldrush get full sun all day long and still over 90% will rot unless i ziploc bag them. With bags im only losing 5-10% to rot which is fine with me. Like auburn’s GR, mine are still hanging and even getting some yellow. I tasted a few of the rotters and they were pretty sweet already. Im getting optimistic about having a good crop to harvest in a few weeks. They appear on track to ripen 2-3 weeks early this year. They are usually ready mid oct here at least from my limited experience.

I picked a couple about a week ago that was very good to me. Sweet with a little tart. Also had a little wine taste. The one today was slightly past prime but still good.

1 Like