Transplanting older apple/pear trees

I have the opportunity to buy several hundred 2-4" diameter apple and asian pear trees for a very reasonable price. I was wondering if it is worth moving them from one orchard to another with a tree spade in late November/December. Is it worth the risk? I will have to buy/rent a tree spade, I have transportation to move them and I have the room to put them. They are bearing fruit now, they also look quite healthy. Any thoughts? Worthwhile endeavor or a fools errand?

1 Like

You need to make sure that @alan responds to your post -he does this kind of work for a living. Also search the forum, as I’m pretty sure he’s discussed it before.

Sounds like a big project. Good luck!

1 Like

I’m no expert on the subject, but how vigorous of rootstocks are we talking about here? A healthy 4” caliper tree could have a very large root ball… and depending on vigor and planting density in their current location you may not be able to separate those root balls…

I’ve estimated a charge to move some 8 inches in diameter…but the cost changed the mind of the
client.

Most trees moved by tree spade are stunted one to 5 years.

But, if it can be done inexpensively, the trees most probably do fine.

1 Like

It depends partially on the soil. Ideal is relatively heavy soil with few large rocks, so the balls hold together when you are wrapping them, if that’s your plan. Trees in finer soil have more concentrated roots systems

I have done this, but instead of moving the balls I knocked off the dirt and moved the trees bare root (the soil was much too heavy to be worth digging the trees up by hand and getting a lot more root than I did with a spade.