What are my options for this trunk split?

Worked in the yard this weekend…finished up pruning and general clean up. Found a few trees (Plum, apricot and aprium) with crack bark on the trunk…when I peeled it back they looked like this. Weird that 4 trees had this same thing happen…could it be from sunscald? None were injured that I know of…no marks.

Have you ever seen this?

What side of the tree was this on? Was it the same for all trees. One would expect sunscald to be on the outside, but I’m not an expert. We don’t have to worry about sunscald here in Georgia.

They are all on the sun side…make since that sun scald would be the reason behind it.

I have began to paint all my trees. Stupid mistake I made not painting them from the beginning.

Can I paint over the split? or do I block the sun somehow from the trunks? or…is this going to be death to the tree?

I can’t be 100% certain, but it looks to me like the tree is starting to fill in that injury… that liver tree material that kind of looks like it is flowing into the wound from the edges, the same way a tree fills in over a pruning cut. If so, then that is an old injury that the tree is responding to on its own. Maybe it was sunscald damage from a year or few ago, and the bark just peeled off this year? If I’m right, then you might want to protect that new live tissue from sun damage, or just leave well enough alone. Looks like it might take another 5 years or so for the tree to completely fill in the dead area. But even if it didn’t, the tree can grow fine by moving nutrients and water through the 80% of the trunk that isn’t damaged.

1 Like

I had same thing happen on a big old tree I am topworking. It was sun damage. So I painted all my trunks up to first branch with interior white latex plus drywall joint compound plus a little water. May have to repaint every other year or so.

2 Likes