What is the best hoe for mulch?

Mulch has mostly worked well to suppress the weeds - there area few spots where I either did not lay enough paper and/or Mulch that I am getting some weeds breaking through. I am new to hoeing and wondering what type of hoe I should be looking at.

I use a hoe for weeding in bare dirt locations (my veggies garden)… on crops that I do not mulch… Okra, green beans, corn, etc…

But now I plant my tomatoes in same garden space… just change their location each year to rotate. I mulch my tomato planting with old hay… good and deep… to suppress weeds but mainly to retain moisture. If any weeds do sprout up thru that deep hay mulch… l just pull them out.

I normally do not hoe where I have mulched.

For weeding in bare dirt plantings… I have a single tine hoe for close work… and then a 4 inch and 7 inch stirrup hoe that I use on more open areas.

Shallow cultivation is key to success in weeds. There is only so much weed seed in the top inch of soil… if you cultivate no more than an inch deep… each time you do that… less weeds will sprout up. After 3 or 4 shallow cultivatuons your crop should be able to shade out the few weeds that remain.

Examples of okra and sweet corn.

If I have an area mulched and weeds come up thru the mulch… I would pull them out… and consider adding more mulch… I put down a thick layer of old hay under my tomatoes… a good 8 inch thick… rare for anything to sprout up thru it… but if it does… it is usually easy to just pull it out roots and all… and perhaps apply more mulch if that continues to happen.

4 Likes

I use a rake thing- can’t remember what they’re called but it’s like a small forked rake with 5 tines very rigid. on a long handle. I use it to spread mulch and yank weeds out of it

I also have a weed chopper step upon thing someone gave me for the long tap root weeds. I’ll try to get photos in the morning for you.

1 Like