When to graft in spring

I’m new to Oklahoma and all this cold winter weather. I’m originally from California and quit comfortable with grafting out there. When can I start? Before freezing weather ends or after? In California I like to start before the buds begin to swell with my grafting but here in western Oklahoma I’m at a loss as to when the bud swell will begin. I don’t want to loose of the scion wood I have if I can help it. Any advice will be appreciated.

1 Like

It’ll vary some with what the tree is, but the old timers rule of thumb is when the leaves on a oak tree are the size of a mouse’s ear.

Thanks I heard that old timers saying before but forgot all about it. Now I’ll have to catch a mouse cut it’s ears off and go around town comparing it to Oak leaf buds. At least I’ll know when to start. Just hope they don’t lock me up in the nearest mental hospital.

7 Likes

I think the primary concern is that the graft not dry out. I think that if the sap is flowing and the tree is showing some vigor you can graft. At least, I’m comfortable thinking that way with pomes, probably safe with plums, too. But all them other stone fruit and I don’t much get along, so I’ll shut up about that. I start grafting in late April here and we’ll usually get frosts after that. Doesn’t seem to be too much of a problem.

I always heard it “the size of a squirrel’s ear” on the tree you’re grafting too!

1 Like

I wait until the plant I’m grafting on has just leafed out. Like marknmt said