Which persimmons drop / hang on the tree?

What variety’s of persimmons hang on tree when ripe.?

The Bering persimmons I have here are American type ,

They mostly all drop when ripe.

Except for “sweet lent.”

Which stays on the tree until picked.

Most wild ones hang on after being ripe, and can be shaken out.

Most other American” varieties “ I pick off the ground.

Some , very soft ones can be picked off the tree before they fall. And are good.

Such as meader ,garettson , most others picked from ground.

Picking off the ground requires a well mowed area under the trees.

I have many kaki and hybrids planted and yet to be planted.

Have not fruited them. So I have limited experience with their fruiting habits.

So my question is ;

Do all Kaki stay on the tree when ripe, ?

Do any kaki variety’s drop when ripe ?

Are any kaki types normally picked from the ground ?

Will they hang on the tree even after frosty / freezing,weather .

And what hybrids hang on / drop ?

4 Likes