White Sapote "Suebelle"

White Sapote “Suebelle” is a cultivar of Casimiroa edulis. I believe it is named after a woman who originally propagated it in Long Beach CA. I’ve been growing it in a 25-gallon pot for a few years and intend to put it in the ground this spring. Here’s a photo of current flowers and fruit sets:

7 Likes

A couple of the maturing fruits :smile:

6 Likes

Today I planted it from the 25-gallon pot :smile:.

4 Likes

Richard, I’ve been trying to calculate from your amazing yard map how close sue belle is planted to your foundation. I’ve read that sapotes can have invasive roots but that grafted Suebelle should be naturally smaller. In your experience what would be the minimum safe distance? I’m running out of room but would really like to put my Suebelle in the ground.

In my experience the Suebelle produced by LaVerne has less invasive roots than most figs. You do need to control the height much like you would a Reed Avocado – otherwise you’ll have a tall, spindly tree. I’d feel comfortable planting it 12’ away from the house, considering both the roots and your ability to service the tree.

1 Like

I harvested these 4 today and still have 5 ripening on the tree.

9 Likes

I bought some sue belles at the farmers market yesterday and they were delicious. Enjoy yours!!

1 Like

Flower buds :laughing:

1 Like

A stealth fruit and flowers.

4 Likes

Hello Richard. Your landscape is drastically different than mine at the moment. Everything is covered in snow here… I sometimes dream of moving south just to be able to get fruits in winter or to taste fruits such as the white sapote. I never saw that fruit before. Lucky you :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi @jessica4b,
I too appreciate where you live :slight_smile:. From that region has come Joni Mitchel, The Guess Who, The Duhks, and the world’s largest Rose cultivar repository to name a few. I’m also envious of several fruiting plants you’re growing:

cherry : Carmine Jewell, nanking cherry Pink candles