Who is getting good crops from in-ground figs in z7a?

I have been growing figs in the ground for around 15 years. I’ve gotten some figs but have had so many years of dying back to the ground that I’m not sure I am going to keep them. Maybe three years of the 15 I had a good crop. Right now I want to expand my peaches and the place the figs are now sitting is a very nice location. Generally my figs are healthy and get plenty of sun, its the dieback that is the main problem. I don’t usually do any tip pinching but I thin out the branches. I pinched a few years and didn’t notice much improvement.

Hardy fig no dieback to 0F?

What varieties do you grow? Hardy varieties like Chicago Hardy wouldn’t die back in your area right?

I have a dozen hardy varieties including Hardy Chicago. Celeste is usually the one that does the best for me.

Getting them through winter is the biggest thing, the crop starts a month earlier and is less spread out. The past 3 falls have had cold snaps in November that did damage. Thinking in terms of ultimate lows misses early and late freezes, trees that died back last year (which makes them grow late into the next season and be more vulnerable to cold) and had no protection are half dead already from one night of 15 f. in November. Last year was worse because there was no frost before the cold snap.

This year was still a challenge because of all the rain, aside from splitting and the pests that brings there were fungal diseases like web blight and anthracnose that have never been a serious problem before. Picking off affected leaves and fruit, along with thinning to increase air circulation helped but was still a major setback.

Using row cover has been a huge advantage, both for season extension and winter protection. Multiple layers are required and the trees need to be bent over after leaf drop so the branches don’t poke through and shred it.