Willamette Valley and PNW Thread

Hi all. I noticed there was a pretty successful Colorado front range thread, so it got me to wondering about other fruit growers in my part of the world. What’s everybody growing in the Willamette Valley of Oregon and nearby?

I’ve got several varieties of figs, a couple apples, pears, peaches, pineapple guava, hardy kiwi, grapes, a lot of different raspberries, thornless blackberries, Marion berries, strawberries, blueberries, olive, and I’ve even got a pomegranate I’m trying to grow and a lime, too. I don’t have much room left but I’m hoping to squeeze in some cherry and plum, too.

What’s everybody else growing, and are there any tricks that you have for growing in this area? I just started a few years ago so I’m still learning.

I’m looking forward to learning from other people in the PNW!

6 Likes

Most of us in PNW have Willamette Valley envy! You can grow pretty much anything! Mild winters, rare spring frosts, and lots of summer heat.
In addition to your great selection, Eureka and Lisbon lemons will overwinter with a little protection. Hayward and Saanichon fuzzy kiwi too. All good for cherries and euro/asian plums.
Note that this spring was wildly abnormal with its 10 days of SoCal weather. Made for great pollination and a little fire blight (which normally is absent) but most Aprils are rainy …so you’re out with the paintbrush for pollination.
I’m in the northern reaches (Anacortes, Washington) so I’ve resorted to all sorts of overhead structures to simulate Willamette Valley!
With perfect pollination weather this year, crops should be great.
Chris

2 Likes

I had good pollination on everything except santa rosa plum. I even had a full set on puget gold apricot. I’m going to graft santa rosa over to something else, it isn’t recommended here anyway. Had a tiny spot of fire blight on an asian pear but it only took out the blossoms