Wine Making

I know there are a lot of wine makers out there. I’m basically a newbie and figured I could find people that can answer questions that might come up.

Supreme Muscadine from juice only (no hulls). Primary fermentation complete and transferred to carboys today.

10 Likes

Cool, I like the color! I have planted a few muscadine vines as an experiment but I’m not sure how much they like the weather where I’m at. Planted them last fall then they died back to the ground over the winter, but grew back a little bit over the summer, so there’s hope.

Just curious, did you take any hydrometer readings? If so, what were your gravity readings before and after primary fermentation? Never tried muscadine wine, but most descriptions say it’s “sweet.” So is it sweet because it has so much residual sugar after fermentation or do they backsweeten it? Seems like most “recipes” I see tell you to add sugar to the juice.

1 Like

Initially the Brix was at about 14 on the hydrometer. This was juice from a steam juicer so perhaps diluted a bit. I sweetened it up to ~22, or about 1.095. 6 days of primary fermentation and it’s down to 1.025. Most everyone back sweetens a bit especially on the reds. All the recipes say to take it down to below 1.00 and then back sweeten if desired. I think muscadine is pretty tart so hence is often sweetened. I didn’t try to adjust pH other than add water at the start

1 Like

Ok, that makes sense. Looks like yours will probably keep fermenting a bit then. Will be interested to hear how it turns out!

1 Like

It’s still bubbling pretty good…… I’m hoping for a light tasting Rosé. Will probably sweeten just a bit.