Arctic kiwi

I’ve been growing arctic kiwi- actinidia kolomikta for around 10 years and have gathered as many varieties as I can to trial here. I’ve found a few female cultivars that are best for fruit. They have been quite successful for me in a semi sun area of my yard, easy to grow, productive and in a couple weeks, delicious!

23 Likes

Wow, so beautiful and productive! Congratulations! :+1:

2 Likes

Really beautiful and productive! They are so delicious!
Unfortunately, in my yard they are doing rather poorly. They produce a handful maybe each year but grow weakly and die back substantially each winter. I think it is the heavy winter rain and subsequent root rot we get here. Two males already died but the female is still clinging on.
I wish they did better.

1 Like

mine are finally starting to grow and have set a few fruit this year. they have been slow to grow and have just finally got to 7 ft. i should have tested the soil before putting them there. used to be a firepit there. whatever the issuse was, its starting to correct itself and the vines are growing finally. probably too basic. full sun till 130pm then dappled shade. just added 2 more females from your cuttings.

2 Likes

Jesse – Gorgeous pictures. I grew a hardy kiwi years ago (I forget the variety) slightly further north but the fruit was fairly small and the ripening was very late (like October) and all at once. Your fruit seem large and numerous. Moreover you imply that you’ll be picking in ME in late July. So I’m interested.

Can you review the varieties that you have tested, covering attributes such as fruit productivity, size, flavor, and ripening? Also do the fruits on a given vine ripen sequentially or all-at-once? Thx.

2 Likes

This is Arctic kiwi, not hardy. Different species!

2 Likes

@ampersand – I’m confused – Is Arctic kiwi (actinidia kolomikta) not cold hardy? Jesse is growing it in Maine.

I think I grew Actinidia arguta v Issai, which is also hardy.