Atlantic giant pumpkin seeds

As you can see on my picture my grandson and I grew a pumpkin a couple of summers ago. We really enjoyed the time we spent taking care of it together so this winter when a very kind forum member asked if I would like a few seeds I jumped at the chance. I told him I would do a thread on it here so he could see our progress. I have two peat pots on a heat mat hydrating and warming up. Last night I took two seeds and lightly filed the edges to make it easier for them to sprout.

8 Likes

Awesome!!! I love pumpkins and am just starting to learn how to grow them. The bigger the better! I’ll be following your progress closely and taking notes to see if I can grow anything.
Good luck!

1 Like

Well I hope I don’t disappoint, I am no expert and there are lots of things that can go wrong. It’s kind of like picking one peach at shuck split then removing all the other peaches on the tree.

A giant emerges…well it’s not that big yet.

1 Like

8 Likes

Lookin good!

1 Like

I think the atlantic giant depends a lot on daylength. The big ones seem to be in the north where summer days are long. I have never seen one grow any larger than a big max.

1 Like

They do like the long days up north and I think they prefer the cooler midsummer temps as well. I have grown some big max here a long time ago and they did get pretty big but I could pick up the biggest one, maybe 80 lbs. A couple of years ago I grew the one in my avitar with some Atlantic giant seed from lowes. I couldn’t lift it or weigh it but I did use a measuring chart that estimated it at 250 lbs. It did really well until the real hot summer heat set in. It is real fun to measure it every day and calculate the growth. I hope to grow a bigger one this year as I have better seed , we will see, there are lots of things that can go wrong.