Bog gardening

I’ve been playing with hardy carnivorous plants for a few years now in small bog planters. The plants were outgrowing the planters, so I decided to install proper bog gardens in my front garden to really see them.

I have several types of Sarracenia (pitcher plant), Venus fly traps, sundew, and some hardy orchids planted. Bog gardens are basically ponds full of peat moss (and some sand, perlite, etc) instead of water. Must be watered with distilled or rainwater, but aside from that it’s pretty low care.

23 Likes

That’s really neat! I know we have some hardy pitcher plants that grow wild in the marshes around my house.

3 Likes

Will any of those survive 6b

2 Likes

Yup, all of these have been in 6b for me for several years without issue. People report most will survive to at least zone 5 with heavy mulch. Sarracenia purpurea is zone 3 hardy and naturally occurs well north into Canada. You can also container grow them and move them to a cold spot for dormancy.

3 Likes

Can confirm there are numerous carnivorous plants that survive zone 6B and even colder. I’ve had various varieties of Sarracenia, Drosera, Pinguicula, terrestrial Utricularia, and Dionaea in my bog garden outside here in my yard in WV, some have survived since I put the little pond liner in the ground in 2005-2006.

The Sarracenia have been the toughest and most resilient plants; for some reason feral cats and stray dogs have been the biggest problem for me (deterring them from the sandy, peaty medium and apparently sometimes they find CP’s tasty? I don’t know).

I still have divisions in the ground going from the original ‘Judith Hindle’ Sarracenia I planted when I first dug/carved out a hole in my yard and put the pond liner in and filled it w/ peat and sand mix.